Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

One Eagle Soaring shortlisted for The BC Book Prizes

Posted: Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 3:19pm

One Eagle Soaring, by Roy Henry Vickers and Robert Budd, has been announced by the West Coast Book Prize Society as a finalist for the 2019 Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award.

The BC Book Prizes, established in 1985, celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers. The seven Prizes are presented annually at the BC Book Prizes Gala in the spring. The Prizes are administered and awarded by members of a non-profit society who represent all facets of the publishing and writing community.

A “first numbers” book, One Eagle Soaring explores counting and numbers with the help of West Coast animals—from a single eagle aloft, to a trio of swimming whales, as well as leaping frogs, honey-hungry bears and a group of ten dozing owls. Combining vivid illustrations, a glossy tactile finish and a simple yet catchy text, this sturdy board book introduces babies and toddlers to the spectacular scenery and wildlife of British Columbia.

Robert (Lucky) Budd is the co-author of the Northwest Coast Legends series and the author of Voices of British Columbia, which was shortlisted for the 2011 Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award, and its sequel, Echoes of British Columbia, which won second prize in the BC Historical Federation’s writing competition in 2014.

Roy Henry Vickers is a renowned carver, painter and printmaker. He is the co-author of the popular children’s Northwest Coast Legends series, all of which were shortlisted for the Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award: Raven Brings the Light in 2014, Cloudwalker in 2015, Orca Chief in 2016 and Peace Dancer in 2017.

The other finalists for the Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award are Bob Joseph for 21 Things You May Not Know About the Indian Act (Page Two Strategies), Robert Amos for E.J. Hughes Paints Vancouver Island (TouchWood Editions), Darrel J. McLeod for Mamaskatch (Douglas & McIntyre) and Eve Lazarus  for Murder by Milkshake (Arsenal Pulp Press). The winners will be announced at the BC Book Prizes Gala on Saturday the 11th of May, 2019, at the Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront in Vancouver.